You are not connected...
Connection to the site
Theme: 
Language : english

Microsoft wants to push for Windows 10 upgrade

Vignette
Written by Guillaume
Publication date: {{ dayjs(1617638402*1000).local().format("L").toString()}}
This article is an automatic translation

A system of "insistent" notifications has been put in place to encourage the less enthusiastic.

Since the release of Windows 10 on July 29, 2015, Microsoft has always made it clear that there would be no more question of a "big" new version - Windows "11" for example - of its operating system, which, on the other hand, must evolve regularly. The idea here is to offer two major updates per year in order to bring new features and to review certain elements of the software. Of course, between these two updates published in the spring and fall, Microsoft does not miss an opportunity to fix bugs or plug security holes.

However, the principle of two annual updates comes up against a major problem: the lack of enthusiasm of some users to update an operating system that " suits them very well as it is". For Microsoft, this is a concern insofar as it creates a Windows 10 park less and less homogeneous over time. To remedy this, the publisher is not using the back of the spoon and has decided neither more nor less than to stop supporting systems that still run on versions 1909, 1903 and older of Windows 10.

The deadline has already been set by Microsoft and it is getting "dangerously close": it is May 11, 2021. So, to convince as many users as possible before it happens, Microsoft has set up a system of notifications that we will call "insistent". These simply state that "Support for your version of Windows 10 will end soon. Please click to download a new version of Windows 10 and keep this service ".

The notification appears in the dedicated area of the Windows 10 taskbar in the lower right corner of the desktop. It is displayed when the machine starts up and can of course be closed by the user. However, Microsoft has arranged for it to reappear regularly and automatically as long as the system update has not been performed.