You are not connected...
Connection to the site
Theme: 
Language : english

Microsoft warns to disconnect OneDrive before a Windows 10 / 11 restore

Vignette
Written by Guillaume
Publication date: {{ dayjs(1646672440*1000).local().format("L").toString()}}
This article is an automatic translation

A rather annoying bug affects both the recent Windows 11 and some older versions of Windows 10. Caution.

Highlighted by some users and recognized by Microsoft, a bug in the Windows operating system was documented a few days ago by the American publisher. The latter has logically published details about this problem and give the steps to follow to "solve" it. This information can be found in the Windows 11 documentation on the page dedicated to " known issues and notifications ".

In fact, the problem is known to Microsoft since last month and it concerns the restoration of a Windows system. The advantage is that if you don't intend to perform such an operation or if you use disk images to restore your system, you don't risk anything. On the other hand, when you decide to use the system restore tool designed by Microsoft, there may be a problem, especially when the choice is given between " keep your data " or " delete them from the hard disk ".

A bug that concerns files specifically OneDrive, the Microsoft cloud backup service. Indeed, even when the option of deleting data from the disk is selected at the time of restoration, it seems that the OneDrive files synchronized locally are not deleted. In absolute terms, this is not a big deal for most users: you just have to delete them manually if they are not really needed anymore. On the other hand, in the case of a larger-scale deployment, on sites for example, the fact that confidential files can potentially be kept in place when they are thought to be deleted is not very secure.

Microsoft is working on a more definitive solution, of course, but for the time being, the editor suggests an "express" workaround: it suggests simply disconnecting the OneDrive account or desynchronizing the data before launching the restoration procedure. Note in passing that if the problem concerns mainly Windows 11, it also affects versions of Windows 10: Microsoft speaks of versions 21H2, 21H1 and 20H2 of Windows 10.